• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • The Antwerpen Chronicles: Pure, Unadulterated Happiness With My Dawg (Vlog)

The Antwerpen Chronicles: Pure, Unadulterated Happiness With My Dawg (Vlog)

A perfect confluence of life events led me to Antwerp, Belgium, where I was able to spend a long weekend with my dawg and his wife exploring the city, drinking Seef bier, and eating more frites than one man should physically do.

There are certain moments where you look back and only then realize it was truly one of the best times of your life. This is not one of them

I knew it was the best time AS it was happening. 

While the lead-up to my mid-May departure to Europe for 3 months started a bit shaky, which you may have gathered from my frequent references to eating canned beans and rifling through my change bottle (that’s right, it’s a plastic bottle, not a jar) to scrounge up enough HK$10 coins for a 7-11 tallboy, I truly believe it all happened for the better.

A nearly 10-day trip with my brother in Poland had me singing this tune very early on during my European adventure. However, it was a long weekend reunion with one of my best friends and his wife in Antwerp that solidified this thought - rounding out what I consider to be the best 3 months of my adult years. 

Here’s a little glimpse into what we got up to over four days in this Flemish haven for Epicureans and Erudites. 

The Antwerpen Chronicles: Part 1 & Part 2

First, don’t forget to check out the Antwerp Destination Spotlight I wrote, which lays out the major sites, experiences, and eating and drinking haunts that you should check out. 

You can also find a 2-day Antwerp Travel Itinerary with my recommendations for exactly how I’d strategically approach visiting and gourmandizing. 

Now, without further ado, here are two fun Antwerp vlogs I filmed - both of which include a good chunk of what you’ll see on the 2-day itinerary. 

If you’re looking to re-learn Stratego (or other classic board games) while tossing back Belgian craft beers and snacks like bitterballen, I’ve got you covered in this article breaking down 5 awesome Antwerp bars.

If you have any questions about traveling to Antwerp or want more recommendations on what to do, how to structure your trip, and where to eat and drink, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at [email protected]

Travel well everyone,

Big Body