• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • Pure Blueberry Bun Bliss: Where to Find 3 of Kraków's Best Jagodzianki

Pure Blueberry Bun Bliss: Where to Find 3 of Kraków's Best Jagodzianki

I took to the jagodzianki streets to find the best sweet blueberry bun in Kraków.

Little did I know that my love for Poland’s celebrated blueberry sweet bun, the jagodzianka, was put well in motion before I even learned of its existence. I credit my mother for this thanks to the vibrant garden she meticulously tended to, which sported everything from rhubarb to carrots, green beans, and of course, blueberries. 

New England summers weren’t complete without a freshly washed bowl of berries to snack on early in the morning or as a midday pick-me-up before whatever sports match my brother and I inevitably had. 

So, when I made my two-month summer pilgrimage to Poland (where I currently write this from), I was pleasantly surprised to learn that blueberry season was in full swing and jagodzianki were going hot off the glass shelves. 

Here are three of Kraków’s best jagodzianki and where you can find them. 

Pale Ale Travel Note: ‘Jagodzianka’ is the singular form of this delicious blueberry sweet bun while ‘jagodzianki’ is the plural. 

3 Bodacious, Buttery, Blueberry Buns in Kraków

First, if you want a quick 15-second video on the below three jagodzianki havens in Kraków, make sure to check out this YouTube video I made: 

Bun Bakery

Jagodzianka at Bun Bakery

That’s just the definition of the word beauty right there.

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.instagram.com/bunbakery.Kraków/ 

Bun Bakery feels like you’re stepping into a family-run operation with its quaint, cozy interior. The fact that it offers up select, limited pastries only instills confidence that the jagodzianki before you are of the highest pedigree.

This one is for jagodzianki lovers (or newcomers) who want to ensure that they get their money’s worth filling-wise, as it’s absolutely stuffed silly with a mix of whole and slightly mashed tart blueberries that pop in the mouth similar to tapioca balls in a bubble tea.

You will walk out of there with your hands looking like Grimace was eating out of the palm of your hands for the last hour. But that’s a trade-off I’ll take any day.  

Kawiarnia Fornir

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.instagram.com/fornir.kawiarnia/ 

Kawiarnia Fornir is one of those highly Instagrammable spots (thanks to its lush green garden terrace and ethereal natural lighting) that you’ve likely been algorithm’ed with over the past few months while you began plotting your Poland itinerary. 

However, it “talks the talk” and “walks the walk” and isn’t just a popular stop for tourists but local Cracovians as well. In fact, the several times I’ve been, the overwhelming majority of patrons were Polish. 

Fornir serves up the "tartest" of jagodzianki on this list, tucked nicely away in a light, airy, and sweet dough that had me doing the Snoopy dance on my way out. 

It’s crumbly yet crumbly with integrity, meaning that this is one of the few jagodzianki spots you may escape with zero collateral damage on your shorts or pants.   

Pale Ale Travel Note: There should be a term in Polish for the dark purple color your hands and fingernails take on after tearing into a jagodzianka. I propose, “Jagodzianki Hands.”

MAK Bread&Coffee

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.instagram.com/mak_bread_coffee/ 

I don’t just love MAK Bread&Coffee because it’s a candidate for the most work-friendly cafe in Kraków. I love it because it’s a candidate for the most work-friendly cafe in Kraków AND serves up my favorite jagodzianki on the list. 

It’s almost like a smooth blueberry yogurt explosion when you bite in.

This is the least traditional jagodzianki as it not only sports a healthy mix of whole and mashed blueberries but it also incorporates a runny, silky cream that further draws out the sweetness of the berries and pastry. 

For me, this balances out the tartness of the ripe blueberries nicely and adds a bit more depth to what’s already a nearly perfect pastry. 

Don’t Miss This Seasonal Classic When in Poland

I think what I love most about jagodzianki is that when I eat them, there’s an element of familiarity and nostalgia that is elicited - something that I deeply treasure the older I get. 

Having not been home in over four years, I welcome any experience (gastronomic or not) that transports me back to those sweltering New England summers with my mother, even for a split second, where I’d eat fresh blueberries straight out of a mixing bowl while watching Sword in the Stone

So, if you’re like me who wants a little taste of home when in a foreign land, or you just want a damn good pastry that’s tart, sweet, and buttery, the jagodzianka should definitely be on your radar when you travel to Poland. And now you know where to get three of the absolute frontrunners in Kraków. 

If you have any questions about traveling to Poland (especially Kraków, Warsaw, or Gdansk), please don’t hesitate to reach out to me in the comments or via email at ([email protected]).

Eat well everyone,

Big Body