• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • 3 Laptop-Friendly Cafes in Warsaw to Grind Out Work & Study

3 Laptop-Friendly Cafes in Warsaw to Grind Out Work & Study

Now you have no excuse to procrastinate.

While I’m somewhat deep in the vicissitudes of fortune at the moment and am not on a particularly pressing schedule to get work done or meet a deadline, I know the feeling of showing up in a new city or country and being unable to locate a reliable, laptop-friendly cafe. Something feels wrong about falling back on Starbucks (although, sometimes you just gotta). 

Further, an important part of traveling (or spending extended periods) for me is feeling like I can feasibly settle into a routine in whatever city or country I’m in. And, the reality of life is that “cash rules everything around me” (Wu-Tang Clan), so that routine, unfortunately, includes trying to get them dolla dolla billz, yall. 

So, you can imagine my delight when I was able to comfortably enter into a productive and repeatable routine in Warsaw, Poland (making it a huge reason why I’ve decided to stay for roughly one month). 

Here are three laptop-friendly cafes in Warsaw certified by yours truly. I’ve spent the bulk of June working out of all three of these and have been pleasantly surprised at just how work-friendly they are (and the sheer number of other patrons working from them, studying, and/or holding professional meetings).

If you’re more of a video person, check out my video showing all three work-friendly Warsaw cafes on the list!

1. CoffeeDesk

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.coffeedesk.pl/ 

CoffeeDesk is the first cafe I worked out of in Warsaw. I mean, how could this not be laptop-friendly? It’s in the name. CoffeeDesk is what I consider one part cafe, one part hot desk coworking space. And, there are (currently) 3 locations spread across Warsaw.  

You’ll find individual and communal tables, lounge seats and recliners, and an outdoor terrace (should you feel inclined to get some Vitamin D while you work). Everything about this cafe is built for productivity - so much so that I even sat next to a remote worker in IT walking a colleague through how to debug something via Zoom. 

Power sockets are abundant, WiFi kicks ass, and natural light keeps you from feeling like you’re holed up in a dark cubicle.   

CoffeeDesk isn’t just for those looking to grind out several hours of work and study but it’s also for coffee aficionados as well, boasting a wide array of specialty coffees (including a spine-shattering nitro), roasting accessories, and beans. 

While I’ve been putting in the most hours at the Próżna branch, ‘keyboard cat’ typing away at my computer doesn’t feel as futile when I’m able to look out on the gorgeous Vistula River from the Tamka branch. 

2. Green Caffè Nero

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.greencaffenero.pl/pl/ 

  • Location(s): All over Warsaw - literally, just Google Maps it and you’ll find one within walking distance.

While this might sound like hyperbole, I’ll confidently stand behind that it isn’t - there is a Green Caffè Nero located in nearly every pocket of Warsaw. This has become my go-to laptop-friendly cafe in Warsaw for cranking out some work thanks to its spacious seating, communal tables, countless outlets, and fast WiFi. 

I can’t recall a single other cafe in the world that I’ve worked at where I encountered so many people posting up on their laptops or studying. And, each branch has its own personality, with some feeling more “corporate” and being favorites amongst office workers and other professionals, and others popular with students and digital nomads.  

What’s refreshing is that more than a handful of Green Caffè Nero locations are open until 11 PM, meaning you can get close to “burning the midnight oil” if your work requires it (or you just don’t want to take a late-night call in your apartment/hotel room). 

I’ve also already burned through my ‘buy 10 cups of coffee, get one free’ punch card” because I've been to Green Caffè Nero so much. 

3. STOR

I only took videos of STOR (please watch above) - so instead, here’s a beautiful picture of the Vistula River, which the Tamka branch is just a 5 minute walk from.

Website, Address, & Details: 

While STOR is a bit smaller and more intimate than the above two laptop-friendly Warsaw cafes, it shouldn’t be slept on. It’s been holding down the Warsaw coffee block since 2014, serving up “damn good” (and strong) coffee, cakes, and sandwiches, all with ‘al fresco’ work and relaxation vibes. 

Because it’s a tad smaller than the others, and I don’t want to take up countless hours in the shop, I primarily use STOR for quick, administrative work and catching my breath. There are plenty of accessible outlets so don’t worry. It’s also LGBTQ+ inclusive, which is becoming increasingly more common in Warsaw (I’m unsure about the rest of Poland). 

I’ve been primarily working out of the Bracka branch, located a several-minute walk from the Centrum metro station, and posting up right at the window (to catch a nice breeze) or in the upstairs loft area (when I’m feeling more house cat-ish). 

Subscribe For Weekly Travel Guides & Tips

If you like these short guides and want eating, travel, and digital nomad tips sent straight to your inbox, make sure to subscribe! Also, don’t forget to check out palealetravel.com for more in-depth posts and stories!

Work well everyone,

Big Body