2 of the Most Righteous Zapiekanki Haunts in Warsaw

I'm not sure there's many better street food snacks out there than the mighty Polish zapiekanka.

I’ll say it. Oftentimes, I find that simple food is the best. I don’t need any bells and whistles, sea urchin foam extract, or gold leaves adorning my meal. I just need tasty, filling sustenance. And, I need it to be consistent. 

Well, I’m not sure there are too many better answers to that demand than the Polish zapiekanka - a toasted open-face sandwich with more customization options than a Build-A-Bear workshop. 

This mammoth, footlong, affordable street food has served me very well in Warsaw (and my Poland adventures) as a midday pick-me-up, late-night snack, and even an entire meal.

Here are two zapiekanki eateries in Warsaw toasting up nostalgic, cheesy baguettes with toppings galore that can play for me any day of the week.   

Pale Ale Travel Note: Zapiekanka is the singular form of the word while zapiekanki is the plural.

If you’re more of a “visual zapiekanki” enthusiast, then make sure to check out my video that includes both spots!

Zapiexy Luxusowe

Website, Address, & Details: https://zapiexy.pl/ 

  • Location: Widok 19, 00-026 Warszawa

  • Price: $ - Prices start as low as 10 złoty for a half and can go up to just under 30 złoty for a decked-out full sandwich. 

I can’t start things off without giving credit to my first true love in the zapiekanka game - Zapiexy Luxusowe. This is a quicker, typical fast-food type of feed joint for zapiekanki. 

The sandwich options are limitless, the service is prompt, and the atmosphere is chaotic (perfect for a late-night bite). 

My personal favorite is the Amerykańska - a bacon, corn, onion, and paprika-topped baguette with melty cheese that oozes like that one Power Rangers villain (Ivan Oooze). 

You can find everything from traditional mushroom and cheese zapiekanki to Italian-inspired arugula, chicken, and mozzarella-topped baguettes, and even vegan options. My brother is lactose intolerant and was surprisingly easily able to customize his zapiekanki in Poland sans-cheese.    

Make sure to personalize your zapiekanka with a spicy sauce, garlic sauce, or ketchup. 

Zapiekanka Wisła

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.instagram.com/zapiekanki_wisla/ 

  • Location: Tamka 31, 00-355 Warszawa

  • Price: $ - Prices start just under 20 złoty and can go up to 40 złoty depending on the toppings. I think it’s a one-size-fits-all sandwich situation (no halves).   

Zapiekanka Wisła became my go-to spot for these righteous sandwiches as I would frequently run along the Vistula River during my (almost) month in Warsaw and it was situated halfway between my run and apartment. So, it of course made for the perfect post-run snack (or dinner). 

Zapiekanka Wisła offers what I would consider to be a more elevated and gourmet take on the zapiekanka as it really seems to place heavy emphasis on fresh ingredients (and healthy options).  

Early on, I fell in love with the ‘Seksi Topiel’, which comes embalmed in gooey cheese, sweet mushrooms, red onion, jalapenos, salty bacon, and homemade chutney. I’m about 95% sure the name ‘Seksi Topiel’ translates to ‘sexy toppings’, which I can confirm very much lives up to the name. 

You can also find prosciutto-topped baguettes along with smoky kielbasa sandwiches and several vegan options (one that is literally a caprese on a toasted baguette). 

And, like all sound zapiekanki joints, there’s a tri-sauce offering to choose from (I always go garlic because I never kiss anyone).  

Pale Ale Travel Tip: Zapiekanka Wisła is so darn good that I even marked it as one of my top eats in all of Poland on my ‘Mega Poland Restaurants, Cafes, & Bars Guide’. 

I Came, I Saw, I Zapiekanka’ed

There’s a reason why this street food has become more than just a “simple, open-faced sandwich” and is now considered a venerated symbol of Polish street food culture.

It’s quick, it’s filling, it’s comforting, and it doesn’t compromise on fresh ingredients or flavor. I’m not sure you can say that about too many “fast food” options out there.

The best part? There’s no limit to the ingenuity or number of flavor/ingredient combinations one can order on a zapiekanka. 

If you have any questions about traveling to Poland or are in need of any restaurant, cafe, or bar recommendations, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at [email protected]

Eat well everyone,

Big Body