• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • Gorączka Złota: A Warsaw Craft Beer Pub Behind a Burger Thicker Than a Bowl of Oatmeal

Gorączka Złota: A Warsaw Craft Beer Pub Behind a Burger Thicker Than a Bowl of Oatmeal

The gettin' is good at this vintage craft beer tavern serving up juicy thick, thick burgers.

I don’t think I can pinpoint the moment in history when thick patty burgers stopped being cool and smashburgers stepped in to take their place. But what I can tell you is that I do think it’s because burger joints across the globe got complacent over the years and the switch over to their smashed counterparts just felt natural. It just became too much of a gamble to order a medium rare burger, and only have it cooked properly one out of three times (that’s a generous statistic).  

A part of me still yearns for thick, bodacious beef patties that let out a little “moo” just as you bite into them. Every time I wander into a burger restaurant off the street, I can’t help but get uncomfortably close to patrons (much to their chagrin) with a burger in front of them just to check to see if the internal temperature was cooked correctly. 

I was “this close” (imagine me using my hands to convey this) to completely giving up on thick patty burgers (especially after discovering one of the best smashburgers in Warsaw), until I met you Gorączka Złota. 

What started as a craft beer excursion quickly turned into a full-blown burger bonanza (with beer too) thanks to this artfully constructed thick patty burger with all the fixings. 

Here is everything you need to know about Gorączka Złota and the behemoth burger in Warsaw that has restored my faith in the “Church of the Thick Patty.” Preach. 

A Thick Patty Burger Gold Rush in Warsaw

Goraczka Zlota double milkshake ipa

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.facebook.com/GoraczkaZlotaWarsaw/ 

  • Location: Wilcza 29, 00-544 Warszawa 

  • Price: $-$$ - the 7th Heaven Burger clocks in at just over 40 złoty (USD 10), which is an absolute steal (especially compared to smashburger haunts where you pay the same for a burger a fraction of the size).

Translating to “gold rush,” Gorączka Złota is very much true to the name as its thick, thick build would bring all the forty-niners to the yard. And they’re like, it’s better than yours. 

The best way I can describe Gorączka Złota is to picture your local watering hole in whatever place you’re from and the eclectic cast of characters that inevitably settle in and make it their second home. Now, replace the light beer and bland, fast-food replica appetizers with craft beer and homemade dishes that actually have you feeling like you’re rocking sweatpants in your humble abode.

Goraczka Zlota license plates

Pale Ale Travel Note: While this post is a celebration of Gorączka Złota’s burger, you’ll also find dishes like the hearty Ruskie pierogi (my personal ‘control pierogi’), a stacked Reuben, grilled pork tenderloin, and several appetizers (traditional sour/rye soup, camembert, etc…). 

The multicolor bottle cap-covered walls, indiscriminately hung LED Christmas lights, sticky mahogany tables and benches, and a ragtag collection of U.S. license plates all somehow come together to form a somewhat incongruous yet congruously decorated roadhouse. One that embraces “the quirky” and “the different” and encourages patrons to feel at ease (the beer also helps as well). 

Goraczka Zlota wall Warsaw

It’s not a spot where you'd expect a menu of 10-plus “new age” smashburgers being churned out by the dozen every couple of minutes. Frankly, it’s also not a spot where I’d expect to see six creative craft beers on tap (the Double Milkshake IPA being my favorite across several trips). I’d paint it as more of a Żywiec on draft type of place (I do also love an ice-cold Żywiec). It’s a refuge where diners, drinkers, and everyone in between post up for hours on end and probably stay a little past their welcome (myself included). 

Gorączka Złota is a place where one burger is on the menu (there’s a veggie burger too but I’m not counting that) - The 7th Heaven Burger. The fact that time may or may not stand still while in this vintage tavern allows staff time to fastidiously cook a burger to perfection and then have the vitality (and integrity) to judiciously assemble it - brick by brick (except those bricks are juicy seasoned tomato slices, sharp cheddar and nutty Mimolette, bacon strips, pickles, onions, and lettuce). 

Goraczka Zlota 7th heaven burger

I’ll say it. That’s a beautiful burger.

Pale Ale Travel Tip: You can’t go to Poland without trying the iconic, affordable, filling street food known as the ‘zapiekanka’. Check out my post breaking down two righteous zapiekanki haunts in Warsaw

Goraczka Zlota 7th heaven burger

For such an imposing, towering burger, it somehow effortlessly retains structural integrity. I’m not entirely sure how but there must be some divine burger being (or magical burger elf) holding it up as I wash down each bite with beer. While not a medium-rare inside, the fat ratio of the patty and execution by a venerated kitchen virtuoso ensures that no juice is lost, producing a bite so explosive, Dr. Dre would have written a follow-up to ‘XXplosive’ about it. 

The smoky, not overly cooked soft bacon (my preferred way) was one of the few times this pork candy actually worked for me on a burger. What usually drowns out the taste of the burger completely and makes me feel like I’m biting into a giant pork potato chip was a thing of the past, with Gorączka Złota’s bacon working in tandem with the burger, imbuing additional juiciness and flavor.   

Goraczka Zlota 7th heaven burger inside

Layered with crisp, fresh vegetables, for additional moisture (sans sogginess), tanginess, sweetness, and a raw pungent contrast to the rich, savory patty, and you’ve just ascended to burger 7th heaven (but not like that terrible show ‘7th Heaven’ on ‘The WB’). 

The stern yet motherly proprietor/bartender, a venerated blonde woman who has poured more pints than I’ve drank in a lifetime, even couldn’t help but crack a smile and give me a thumbs up after witnessing an absolute burger ravaging on my part. 

Pale Ale Travel Tip: Like this post? Make sure to check out my Poland mega-guide for a complete list of 100+ restaurants, cafes, and bars that I wholeheartedly recommend. 

It’s Ok to Be a Thick Patty in a World Full Thin Ones

empty plate at Goraczka Zlota

fin.

With that header, I’m not even sure if I’m talking about burgers anymore or drawing parallels to my own life (check the name - Big Body). But Gorączka Złota has reminded me just how beautiful a thoughtfully grilled and constructed thick patty burger can be. 

I just wish they were more readily available across this increasingly smashburger-oriented burger landscape. Maybe that’s what makes such a transient gastronomic affair with burgers, like that made by Gorączka Złota, such a memorable experience.  

Let me know your favorite burger in Warsaw! I’d love to hear from you and I’m always looking to expand my burger Rolodex across the world. If you have any questions about your vacation to Poland or need any recommendations (for anything), please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at [email protected]

Eat well everyone,

Big Body