• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • Exploring Poznań by Way of Its Quirky Yet Tasteful Graffiti

Exploring Poznań by Way of Its Quirky Yet Tasteful Graffiti

Sometimes, the best way to discover a new city isn't through the typical tourist attractions, sites, and experiences.

My nearly two weeks spent in Poznań, Poland taught me that sometimes you don’t have to see the city through traditional sites, attractions, and experiences. On my first day, I noticed a common theme in every district, quirky yet tasteful graffiti (for the most part). 

Exploring the various iconic cartoon characters, funny animals and creatures, and colorful lettering became somewhat of a treasure hunt that allowed me to discover pockets of the city I wouldn’t have otherwise stumbled upon. 

Here’s a little glimpse into some of the graffiti and wall art you can find around Poznań. 

Pale Ale Travel Note: Almost all of the iconic cartoon characters you see around town are done by the hometown graffiti artist Kawu. He may be best known for his pro-Ukraine murals that can be found around town along with his recent Olympics piece depicting Polish female boxer Julia Szeremeta. 

Make sure to check out the short video I made!

Kawu.

Kawu.

Goats are somewhat the ‘official animal’ of the city thanks to a hilarious fable about a chef who stole two goats in the lead-up to a major celebration!

This one gave me a good chuckle.

Kawu.

Kawu.

Don’t forget to pick up my (free) 2-day Poznań travel itinerary

If you have any questions about traveling to Poznań or where any of the graffiti is located, please don’t hesitate to get in touch by emailing me at [email protected]!

Travel well everyone,

Big Body