• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • 4 Convenient & Comfortable Hotels For Your Poland Trip (Warsaw, Kraków, Gdańsk)

4 Convenient & Comfortable Hotels For Your Poland Trip (Warsaw, Kraków, Gdańsk)

Here are four of my favorite hotels I stayed at in Poland.

Coming hot off of the best trip of my life, thanks to being able to spend some much-needed quality time with my brother and experiencing one of the most vibrant countries I’ve encountered during my travels (Hint: I decided to extend for 2 more months), I’d be remiss not acknowledge that things went off without a hitch thanks to the convenient, fully-equipped, and comfortable hotels that offered refuge after long days exploring Poland.

Here are four hotels that my brother and I stayed at during our 3 city Poland vacation and would recommend, including everything we loved and didn’t love about them.

Pale Ale Travel Note: I won’t touch on this as a ‘con’ for every single hotel as it seems to be somewhat standard in Poland (and I imagine across Europe) but with central air conditioning, you can only max adjust the temperature by 3 degrees Celsius either way. My brother and I are from a cooler climate and like to sleep in icy temperatures, so it was a bit of an adjustment and we often found ourselves a bit hot during the night (even at the 4 and 5-star hotels below).

1. Holiday Inn (Warsaw)

View from the Holiday Inn’s gym.

While I stayed at the Holiday Inn Warsaw City Centre, an IHG Hotel, for the two days leading up to my brother’s arrival, it made quite the impression and allowed me to seamlessly transition into my upcoming 9-day, 8-night trip. And, it was right in the heart of Warsaw (and 1 km from Warsaw Centralna train station) - which allowed me to hit the ground running and get a feel for the city before stepping out the front door.  

There’s a certain standard that you can expect from all InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) hotels, and that’s spacious, clean, and possesses first-class amenities. Warsaw City Centre’s Holiday Inn is no different. 

I almost always opt for twin beds as I find there’s more room.

This 4-star IHG hotel offers rooms that are larger than my apartment in Hong Kong (including a bathroom with a shower cabin), a functional and fully-equipped fitness center with views of the city, a lobby cafe and dedicated work area (with desktop monitors), and even an indoor golf practice center (which I, unfortunately, didn’t use). 

I know Holiday Inn gets a “mid-tier” rap in the United States but I can assure you that’s far from the case here. It is hands down a luxury hotel that will have you staying in style without missing a beat on any amenity you need. 

The gym on the top floor was a highlight (with fantastic views - not of me).

The only points I’d mention that would have been appreciated is if the Holiday Inn (a) had a pool, and (b) wasn’t so expensive to do laundry at. Then again, almost all hotel laundry services are overpriced, so this isn’t particularly specific to the Holiday Inn Warsaw. 

Pros:

  • City Center Location 

  • Spacious Rooms

  • Business Friendly 

  • Lobby Cafe

  • Fitness Center

Cons: 

  • No Pool

  • Hotel Laundry Price

Pale Ale Travel Tip: If you’re looking for a semi-reasonably-priced, easy-to-operate, laundromat (with English instructions) less than a 10-minute walk away, make sure to check out ‘Pralnia samoobsługowa Speed Queen Śródmieście’. You can find this laundromat chain in most major Polish cities. 

2. InterContinental Warsaw, an IHG Hotel (Warsaw)

I can’t remember the last time I stayed in such luxury (not at least on my own dime). When you picture 5-star hotels, the InterContinental Warsaw is luxury to a T. Just a stone’s throw away from the imposing, central Palace of Culture and Science, the InterContinental Warsaw gives it a run for its money not only in height but in grandeur. 

By far, our favorite room of the trip.

As I mentioned above, there’s a certain standard you can expect from all IHG hotels. Well, take that standard and then multiply it by 10, that’s the InterContinental Warsaw for you right there. From the lap pool with panoramic views of the city (which includes jacuzzis and saunas), a private gym that is better than most commercial gyms I’ve ever worked out in, a spa, two restaurants (one being recognized in the Michelin Guide), and cafe - if you didn’t leave the hotel at all, I wouldn’t blame you. 

The rooms start at 32 square meters, meaning you’ll have more than plenty of room to spread out. The presidential-sized desk was also a nice touch and essential for firing off some late-night emails. The bathrooms, marbled and equipped with walk-in showers and even a bathtub (perfect for a day of relaxation after exploring the city). The views, unforgettable - allowing you to reflect on the day and prepare for the next. 

Not pictured, the massive bathtub to the right.

You can expect a bathrobe and slippers, safes, cosmetics, an ironing set, a shoe cleaning kit, and any other necessities you can think of. The iron came in handy for our night out at the nightly Chopin concert in the Old Town.

You can’t really beat a pool that overlooks the entire city.

For my brother and I, this was pure luxury and my only regret is that we didn’t spend more time in Warsaw together, as the IHG was frankly somewhere I could have spent all day lounging, swimming, and relaxing. 

This gym is emphatically better than the one I pay around USD 200/month for in Hong Kong.

Pros:

  • City Center Location

  • Spacious Rooms (& Bathrooms)

  • Pool With Panoramic Views

  • Fitness Center

  • Business Friendly

  • Long-Stay Apartments

Cons: 

  • Absolutely None

Pale Ale Travel Tip: If you want to tackle some work outside of the hotel, make sure to check out my post breaking down 3 laptop-friendly cafes in Warsaw (all of which I’ve been regularly working out of).

3. Puro Hotel Kazimierz (Kraków)

I joked with my brother about waking up to finding him in the crack between the two beds and just leaving him there for the next guests.

Puro Hotels are popular, refined, boutique hotels sprinkled across Poland, offering central and historic locations, a sustainable and eco-friendly ethos and materials, and an infusion of both local and international flavor behind contemporary designs. 

My first impressions of the Puro Hotel Kazimierz were that it is a boutique hotel that prioritizes creativity, community, and eclectic experiences. It’s an incredibly chic and sophisticated hotel that had my brother and I feeling like we were starring in a Polish Wes Anderson film. 

We opted for the Puro Kazimierz (Jewish Quarter) location over the Puro Old Town location in Kraków due to wanting to be less than a five-minute walk from the Vistula River (as we love running/walking along the water to start the day). Keep in mind that you’re still only a 10 to 15-minute walk from the Old Town but if you prefer a quieter, more serene vibe, Kazimierz is your spot.

The central open-air courtyard with cafe/restaurant seating was hard to miss when entering and established from the beginning that this was going to be a lush, creative oasis where we could (and would want to) spend time after a long day exploring the city - we found ourselves spending most mornings posted up at the adjoining cafe (MAK Bread&Coffee) with a cinnamon roll and double espresso. 

I think a big reason why we didn’t feel cramped is that the bathroom was quite spacious and allowed us to hang clothes after running.

While rooms weren’t as spacious as the IHG or Holiday Inn, they were economically designed (and felt more similar to a Japanese hotel) and still offered up more than enough space for two growing boys in their thirties. Finally, to complement a small but fully equipped fitness center, you’ll find a hotel spa (one that offers up to 30% discounts on massages) and an eatery and bar (sourced with fresh local ingredients). 

The shower was definitely built for lovers with its see-through door (don’t worry, there’s a curtain).

As I write this, currently back in Kraków for another month and staying in the Old Town, I can already tell I wish I booked something in Kazimierz, as it is more laid back, less “in your face” with the summer tourists, and has a bit more “hidden beauty” which made for a fun exploration with my brother.  

For my brother and I, the biggest perk of staying at the Puro Hotel Kazimierz was being right along the Vistula River.

Pros:

  • Jewish Quarter Location (& Vistula River)

  • Spa + Wellness Center

  • Fitness Center

  • Business Friendly

  • Restaurant & Cafe

Cons: 

  • No Pool

4. Artus. Hotel (Gdańsk)

It was pretty darn cool to have this right out front of the hotel.

Objectively, the Artus. Hotel in Gdańsk was the least luxurious of all three hotels we stayed in during our 9-day, 8-night Poland travel trip. This 3-star hotel located in Gdańsk’s Main City pays homage to the historical Artus Court just a stone’s throw away (along with St. Mary’s Cathedral), a popular center for merchants and locals to mingle and socialize with one another. 

While Artus. Hotel is located smack dab in the middle of Gdańsk, my brother and I far overestimated the size of the city, meaning we could have easily splurged a bit extra and booked a hotel that ‘on paper’ appears slightly outside of the city center but is still a 5 to 10-minute walking distance from everything. However, Artus. felt more atmospheric and was a nice change-up to the more international hotels (chains) we had stayed at previously.

Artus also sports a dry sauna for guests looking to take a breather from the hustle and bustle of the city.  

We opted for twin beds since it was just 2 dudes, however, most hotels give the option of choosing a single queen and/or king.

Rooms were comparable in size to Puro, meaning that there were no issues with the two of us feeling claustrophobic or cramped and the massive dresser allowed both of us to unpack and have our own space. Further, the fact that Artus provided us with a fan went a long way for comfort and was something even the 4 and 5-star hotels didn’t provide.  

Local flare, convenient location, and affordability. That’s how I would best sum up Artus. 

The shower was a tad tricky to get out of due to the curve at the bottom of where the shower door meets the floor.

Pale Ale Travel Note: Gdańsk is a very manageable and compact city, so prioritizing a hotel in a convenient location shouldn’t be a major driver behind what and where you book. 

While we enjoyed our stay at Artus, it would not be somewhere that I recommend booking if you need workable WiFi and isn’t particularly “business-friendly.” For us, it was nice to turn off and disconnect a bit. However, by day 3, it did become slightly frustrating when we just wanted to relax and watch a television show in the room.  

Finally, we were thankful to be facing the parking lot which had minimal noise. However, facing the street does feel like it could be a different story - so I would generally request or try to ask for a room that isn’t looking out over Piwna Street. 

Pros:

  • City Center Location

  • Restaurant Attached to Hotel

  • Dry Sauna

  • Fan Provided

Cons: 

  • No Pool

  • No Fitness Center

  • Poor WiFi

  • Noise

Subscribe For Practical Travel & Eating Guides

Don’t forget to pick up my 9-day, 8-night, 3-city Poland travel itinerary! Pictured above is the Gdańsk Main Town.

If you have any questions about planning your Poland trip or about the hotels listed above, don’t hesitate to reach out to me! 

Finally, make sure to subscribe for future travel and eating guides, tips, and other inspiration - sent directly to your inbox! My goal is to put out quality, informative content that makes your next trip THAT much better (and smoother). 

Please also make sure to check out palealetravel.com for in-depth, comprehensive breakdowns of destinations and restaurants!  

Travel well everyone,

Big Body