• Pale Ale Travel
  • Posts
  • These Amsterdam Smashburgers Can Play For Me Any Day of the Week

These Amsterdam Smashburgers Can Play For Me Any Day of the Week

As a man in his early-thirties, I'm on the smashburger grind these days. And these Amsterdam smashburgers didn't disappoint.

As I’ve declared in several other posts, I’m currently in the ‘smashburger’ phase of my life. Maybe that’s just the early thirties for you and uninterrupted digestion requires the food to be a bit less bulky. Or, maybe it’s because cooks behind traditional thick-patty burger haunts have dropped the ball over the years, harring and overcooking patties to the Nth degree, and rendering them nearly inedible.  

Whatever the reason, I’m not complaining, primarily because I’ve eaten some of the best burgers I’ve ever had the pleasure of picking up with these two pale, arthritic-approaching hands. And, my foray into the European smashburger game began with two big beefy kahunas in Amsterdam. 

Maijard Smashburgers

A true “Dutchification” of the word for the non-enzymatic reaction and browning that occurs when beef patties hit the grill and are imbued with a slightly charred, caramelized flavor, aka the “Maillard reaction,” Maijard Smashburgers is true to the process, grilling up mouth-watering, crispy-edged, locally sourced beef patties across two colorfully decorated shops in Amsterdam’s Centrum. 

I’d classify the Maijard smashburger as one that you should treat yourself to, as it does carry a somewhat hefty price tag (clocking in around €15 for their signature double patty burger). If you’re a hungry, hungry boy like myself, I actually found myself still somewhat wanting more after finishing the standard beef smashburger and walked away the first time wondering if I’d return for such a price. 

However, once I just accepted that I was going to shell out a little extra and tacked on an extra patty (€3) on my next visit, I knew that was the right call and Maijard Smashburgers was definitely worth the price tag.

My biggest gripe with burgers these days is that they are too fragmented, meaning that you often find yourself getting just one or two ingredients in each bite rather than the whole enchilada. Maijard steers clear of this by using a potato bun, which is my go-to bun for a burger.    

I generally find their slightly sweet, pillowy core lets the meat do all the talking, almost melding together into a single, Power Rangers-esque Megazord bite. Contrasted to the crispy little caramelized edges (aka meat candy) of the fatty patties (also thanks to the onions), which are accentuated with the traditional sweet-tangy ketchup-mustard combo, and you have a repeatable, toothsome smashburger that doesn’t miss. 

Le Smash

Website, Address, & Details: https://www.le-smash.com/

Gun to my head, Le Smash is my favorite of the two burgers in Amsterdam. Maybe it was because it’s located in the hip, bohemian neighborhood to the Centrum’s direct south called ‘De Pijp’, which had me bopping around like Steamboat Willy. Or, maybe it was because it clocked in at nearly €5 under Maijard’s and I knew I had an upcoming five-day road trip with one of my top dawgz. 

Either way, Le Smash just hit differently. 

Le Smash prioritizes simplicity and indulgence all in a single bite, utilizing local ingredients to assemble a smashburger between a buttery, soft brioche bun (that isn’t overly sweet). And, the patties are slightly girthier than Maijard’s, which had me plenty full after just a single burger (and for just over €10, that made me happy). 

The gooey sharp cheddar cut through the fattiness of the burgers and the sweetness of the brioche which was well received. I also love the fact that Le Smash tossed on some raw onions for mouthfeel and pungency. 

Finished with generous dollops of ketchup and mustard and tangy pickles, there was depth to this smashburger - one that will make you question whether you ever need to eat a thick patty burger again. 

Hulk Smashing Smashburgers in Amsterdam

I definitely recommend getting out of the Centrum and heading down to De Pijp for a day of shopping, eating, and jivin'.

To be honest, I was generally underwhelmed with traditional Dutch cuisine in the Netherlands (other than bitterballen - I effin’ love bitterballen). Hence, why you may have seen a post on the best thing I ate while there

Hint: it was not traditional Dutch food. 

However, where I felt Amsterdam (and the rest of the Netherlands) thrived was in the preparation and cooking of foods that weren’t traditionally Dutch (except Asian cuisine) - i.e. the American smashburger, pizzas, and even popular appetizers like nachos. 

I’d attribute this to the quality of ingredients used in a country known for being the second largest agricultural exporter globally (after the United States). Everything was fresh, so clean, clean, using the best versions of whatever ingredient I was used to eating back home (or in Hong Kong). 

Both Maijard Smashburgers and Le Smash didn’t disappoint and were up there for some of the best smashburgers I’ve had the pleasure of throwing back in this storied burger journey of mine. 

Season 2 Money GIF by SpongeBob SquarePants

Oh, and just a note, no matter how you smash it, a lot of restaurants are going to be decently expensive in Amsterdam. It’s just such a hotspot for tourism that exorbitant prices are inescapable (unless you make your way outside the Centrum and to other Dutch cities/towns). So, I wouldn’t let the higher price tags dissuade you from trying either (especially Maijard).

If you have any questions about planning a future trip to Europe or Asia, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at [email protected] and I’d be more than happy to help. Or, if you need restaurant, cafe, or bar recommendations, shoot me a message as well!

Eat well everyone,

Big Body